I am Goya

July 2, 2006 at 3:59 am 9 comments

Andrey Voznesensky

Listen


I am Goya
of the bare field, by the enemy’s beak gouged
till the craters of my eyes gape
I am grief

I am the tongue
of war, the embers of cities
on the snows of the year 1941
I am hunger

I am the gullet
of a woman hanged whose body like a bell
tolled over a blank square
I am Goya

O grapes of wrath!
I have hurled westward
the ashes of the uninvited guest!
and hammered stars into the unforgetting sky – like nails
I am Goya

(translated from the Russian by Stanley Kunitz)

A poem that captures so well the darkness and violence of Goya’s vision, marrying it to images from the Second World War.

[falstaff]

The original in Russian (we think! hat-tip Black Mamba)

Я – Гойя!
Глазницы воронок мне выклевал ворон,
слетая на поле нагое.

Я – Горе.

Я – голос
Войны, городов головни
на снегу сорок первого года.

Я – Голод.

Я – горло
Повешенной бабы, чье тело, как колокол,
било над площадью голой…

Я – Гойя!

О, грозди
Возмездья! Взвил залпом на Запад -
я пепел незваного гостя!
И в мемориальное небо вбил крепкие звезды -
Как гвозди.

Я – Гойя.

Entry filed under: Andrey Voznesensky, Art and Painting, Falstaff, Russian, Stanley Kunitz. Tags: .

The Scream My Last Duchess

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shoefiend  |  July 5, 2006 at 11:47 am

    ‘I am the gullet
    of a woman hanged whose body like a bell
    tolled over a blank square’

    I can’t get the image out of my head. Thanks for the post.

    Reply
  • 2. Falstaff  |  July 5, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    shoefiend: Yes, glorious isn’t it?

    Also, wow! I really am bringing light and sweetness into your life these days aren’t I? Is this why you’re going around murdering husbands over their evening meal?

    Reply
  • 3. shoefiend  |  July 6, 2006 at 9:29 am

    Yes. It’s all your fault oh Dark Lord :P You know you should change your name from Falstaff to Morgol or something similarly eveil sounding.

    Reply
  • 4. shoefiend  |  July 6, 2006 at 9:30 am

    Yes. It’s all your fault oh Dark Lord :P You know you should change your name from Falstaff to Morgol or something similarly evil sounding.

    By the way when I tried to post this comment your blog said ‘slow down cowboy’ or something to that effect

    Reply
  • 5. Falstaff  |  July 6, 2006 at 3:46 pm

    :-). Actually, there was a brief time back in college when I went around calling myself Gothmog, Lord of the Valaraukor (or, as you humans call them in your tongue – Balrogs). Ah, the good old days.

    Reply
  • 6. sojournerstrange  |  January 20, 2009 at 4:29 am

    Who did the reading>

    Reply
    • 7. Darwufche  |  July 3, 2014 at 1:57 am

      It definitely wasn’t Voznesensky. I heard him perform this piece in the 70’s in Chapel Hill, NC and it was MUCH more powerful than this voice, which does no justice to the amazing resonance of Voznesensky’s.

      Reply
      • 8. Kazor  |  September 18, 2014 at 10:00 pm

        This voice is I think Indian. Andrei always read his poem in powerful Russian and let others recite the translations, whether in English or in Spanish.

  • [...] end Whitehead is left in his editing suite, haunted by his own images, with the sounds of ”I Am Goya“, a Russian poem of embodied suffering by Andrey Voznesensky, playing untranslated on the [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

