Hazaaron khwahishen aisi

January 5, 2006 at 11:14 pm 34 comments

Mirza Ghalib

Listen

HazaaroN KHwahishaiN ‘eisee ke har KHwahish pe dam nikle
bohot nikle mere armaaN lekin fir bhee kam nikle

nikalna KHuld se aadam ka sunte aayaiN haiN lekin
bohot be_aabru hokar tere kooche se ham nikle

magar likhwaaye koee usko KHat, to hamse likhawaaye
huee subah aur ghar se kaan par rakhkar qalam nikle

mohabbat meiN naheeN hai farq jeene aur marne kaa
usee ko dekh kar jeete haiN jis kaafir pe dam nikle

KHuda ke waaste parda na kaabe se uThaa zaalim
kaheeN ‘eisa na ho yaaN bhee wohee kaafir sanam nikle

kahaaN maiKHaane ka darwaaza ‘GHalib’ aur kahaaN waaiz
par itana jaante haiN kal wo jaata tha ke ham nikle

(da black mamba reads the poem)

Translation from here

A thousand desires such as these,that each takes a lifetime (an eternity)
I found many desires and yet they aren’t enough

I have heard of Adam coming from Heaven
Disgraced a lot I came from your street (home)

If someone wants to write (her) a letter, let me write it
It is morning and I have started from home with a pen on my ear

There is no difference between living and dying in love
I live by the sight of that unfaithful (infidel) taking whose name I die

For God’s sake don’t remove the curtain from Kaaba tyrant
Lest that unfaithful (infidel) sweetheart appear from there too

Where a door to the tavern ‘Ghalib,’ and where the preacher
All I know is yesterday he was going (in) when I stepped out

The complete version can be found here . (Thanks Anubhav!)

[blackmamba]

Entry filed under: Black Mamba, Mirza Ghalib, Urdu. Tags: .

Mujh Se Pheli Si Muhabbat

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sachin  |  December 22, 2006 at 10:32 pm

    I do not agree with the translation posted for the first couplet

    “HazaaroN KHwahishaiN ‘eisee ke har KHwahish pe dam nikle
    bohot nikle mere armaaN lekin fir bhee kam nikle”

    I think it should be somewhat like this

    Thousand of desires, each worth dying for!
    So many of them were fulfilled, yet so few!

    Reply
  • 2. naveen  |  April 16, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    hhhhh

    Reply
  • 3. manoj  |  November 28, 2007 at 7:50 am

    mindblowing galib ji you are tremendous

    Reply
  • 4. Rajendra Singh  |  December 23, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Very excellent to have the poetry before eyes.It would be more appreciable if these poetries are provided in hindi also.

    Reply
  • 5. jay  |  March 25, 2008 at 5:17 am

    apki awaaz bahut acchi hain…

    Reply
  • 6. jay  |  March 25, 2008 at 5:19 am

    apki awaaz badi acchi hain..

    ghalib ji ke to kya kehene …

    Reply
  • 7. Hazaaro Clean Energy Aisi? « ThinkChange India  |  April 24, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    […] not fluent in Hindi (haha, i’m certainly not!), the title of this post refers to the poem by Ghalib, A Thousand Desires Like These (also the title of an excellent film on youth revolution in […]

    Reply
  • 8. Hazaaro Clean Energy Eisi? « ThinkChange India  |  April 24, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    […] not fluent in Hindi (haha, i’m certainly not!), the title of this post refers to the poem by Ghalib, A Thousand Desires Like These (also the title of an excellent film on youth revolution in […]

    Reply
  • 9. shafaq  |  May 6, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I think it is a poor translation ,you have destroyed the beauty of language and the poetry.The translation doesn’t have emotions of the poetry.

    Reply
    • 10. Ritojit  |  November 11, 2009 at 6:24 am

      A translation will always be inadequate to convey the beauty of the poets emotions, and thus those who cannot speak the language will always be held back from enjoying the full nuances of the poet’s emotions. But translations are always necessary – and this, while not being a best translations of Ghalib, is still passable . .

      Reply
  • 11. Hazaaron Khwahishein Aisi « da DUM and the rest  |  May 24, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    […] The English translation of it, which is in the same audio file is from here. […]

    Reply
  • 12. arshiya  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:02 am

    I think he was one of the finest of the poets of his time… sach kaha hai ki galib ka andaze bayan kuch aur hai.

    Reply
  • 13. Shahrukh  |  June 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    ‘Bhonsdi ke’ never try to translate any of the Ghalib’s Ghazals specially in English. Samajh gaye bhaiya…….

    Itne khubsurat Ghazal ki Maa………….. bahen kardi aapne!

    Reply
  • 14. rakesh  |  October 6, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    well…who ever has recited this most beautiful gazal of centuries has done a horrible job. how can with such bad narration u can even think of doing it. m sure mirza wud have died with shock if heard this.
    terrible.

    Reply
  • 15. M. Sayeed  |  November 25, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Another authentic literary translation by Inayat Khan and Jessie Duncan Westbrook, (page 20) from the book ‘Hindustani Lyrics’ 1919 published by The Sufi Publishing Society, London.

    I had a thousand desires, for each of them I would have died,
    And what did I gain?
    So many indeed are fulfilled, but how many beside
    Insatiate remain!

    We have known of the fate of the tale of how Adam to exile was driven;
    More shameful in truth
    Is my fate to be cast from the garden more favoured than Heaven
    Where she walks in her youth.

    That living and dying in love are but one I have proved,
    This only know I
    That I live by the sight of the beauty of her the Beloved
    For whom I would die.

    – GHALIB

    Reply
  • 16. nadeem  |  August 29, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    all of you are seems under metric correct cand translation is here

    Thousands of wishes, each as important as the other, such that one cannot prioritize them
    A lot of my yearnings/desires were fulfilled, but they were not sufficient/not enough/still less

    Reply
  • 17. Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib  |  February 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    […] Hazaaron khwahishen aisi […]

    Reply
  • 19. The Swapper Download  |  June 25, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Asking questions are truly nice thing if you are not understanding anything completely, except this post gives fastidious understanding even.

    Reply
  • 20. Russian Language Services  |  July 9, 2013 at 6:21 am

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?

    Outstanding work!

    Reply
  • 21. boob job games  |  September 9, 2013 at 6:52 am

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say,
    I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m
    still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced
    blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 22. sylwester 2014  |  December 6, 2013 at 8:11 am

    If you desire to obtain a good deal from this paragraph then you have to apply such methods to
    your won website.

    Reply
  • 23. gokarting  |  June 16, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    I have read so many content about the blogger lovers but
    this piece of writing is in fact a nice piece of writing, keep it up.

    Reply
  • 24. Le Management Positif pdf  |  June 24, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested
    in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop
    over time.

    Reply
  • 25. phytolacca decandra medicinal uses  |  June 25, 2014 at 3:39 am

    Great landscaping design could be achieved by using a combination of your respective input along
    with the expertise of an professional. As per the studies many individuals
    have claimed it has actually worked for them without
    any side effects.
    As for her role in the film, Halle explained, “This was definitely an issue, but as a possible actor this really is one of those challenges that you just just relish. The addition of blood meal can restore medical and green color of your nitrogen deficient plant.

    Reply
  • Hi there I am so happy I found your weblog,
    I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyhow I
    am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read a great deal more, Please
    do keep up the fantastic work.

    Reply
  • 27. Le pays sous le vent pdf  |  June 25, 2014 at 4:08 am

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert
    that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and
    even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Reply
  • 28. Buy Nikon D610  |  June 25, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    Hi mates, its fantastic piece of writing regarding teachingand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

    Reply
  • 29. Je suis célibataire et j'aime ça ! pdf  |  June 26, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will
    try to get the hang of it!

    Reply
  • 30. Son  |  June 27, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or
    copyright violation? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without
    my agreement. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being ripped off?
    I’d truly appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 31. Keeley  |  June 28, 2014 at 6:37 am

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web
    site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Reply
  • 32. @  |  June 29, 2014 at 4:05 am

    Why users still use to read news papers when in this technological globe everything is existing on web?

    Reply
  • 33. download book  |  August 8, 2014 at 4:55 am

    This post is worth everyone’s attention. When can I find out more?

    Reply
  • 34. kjudematilde.blog.interi..  |  August 8, 2014 at 11:10 am

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


