Ein Yahav

February 22, 2006 at 6:27 pm Leave a comment

Yehuda Amichai

Listen (to Chana Bloch read)

A night drive to Ein Yahav in the Arava Desert,
a drive in the rain. Yes, in the rain.
There I met people who grow date palms,
there I saw tamarisk trees and risk trees,
there I saw hope barbed as barbed wire.
And I said to myself: That’s true, hope needs to be
like barbed wire to keep out despair,
hope must be a mine field.

Chana Bloch reads her translation of the hebrew poem by Yehuda Amichai. Amichai is considered one of the greatest modern Israeli poets. My bias toward poets who write about the ordinary and mudane makes him one of my favourites.

[blackmamba]

Entry filed under: Black Mamba, Chana Bloch, English, Hebrew, Yehuda Amichai. Tags: .

Acquainted with the Night Death be not proud (Holy Sonnet X)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


