Holy Sonnet 6

June 12, 2006 at 2:11 am 1 comment

John Donne

Listen

This is my play's last scene, here heavens appoint
My pilgrimage's last mile; and my race
Idly, yet quickly run, hath this last pace,
My span's last inch, my minute's latest point,
And gluttonous death, will instantly unjoint
My body, and soul, and I shall sleep a space;
But my ever-waking part shall see that face,
Whose fear already shakes my every joint:
Then, as my soul, to heaven her first seat, takes flight,
And earth-born body, in the earth shall dwell,
So fall my sins that all may have their right,
To where they're bred, and would press me, to hell.
Impute me righteous, thus purged of evil,
For thus I leave the world, the flesh, the devil.

One more Donne sonnet, before I move on to other things (a series of poems about Art is in the offing). This one is, in my opinion, less impressive on the whole, but I love the opening lines – both the immediacy of them and their finality. 

Entry filed under: English, Falstaff, John Donne. Tags: .

Poem To Take Back The Night All Who Seek You

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. graivich  |  September 1, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    could you criticize this sonnet, please?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


