Misgivings

June 20, 2006 at 4:22 pm 9 comments

William Matthews

Listen(to Jacob Weber read)


Perhaps you'll tire of me," muses
my love, although she's like a great city
to me, or a park that finds new
ways to wear each flounce of light
and investiture of weather.
Soil doesn't tire of rain, I think,

but I know what she fears: plans warp,
planes explode, topsoil gets peeled away
by floods. And worse than what we can't
control is what we could; those drab
scuttled marriages we shed so
gratefully may auger we're on our own

for good reason. "Hi, honey," chirps Dread
when I come through the door; "you're home."
Experience is a great teacher
of the value of experience,
its claustrophobic prudence,
its gloomy name-the-disasters-

in-advance charisma. Listen,
my wary one, it's far too late
to unlove each other. Instead let's cook
something elaborate and not
invite anyone to share it but eat it
all up very very slowly.

After All: Last Poems (Mariner Books, 2000)

The underlying insecurity that creeps into relationships and the seemlingly commonplace antidote for it, something as simple as cooking and eating together, alone. I like the fact that Dread takes on the role of a person who welcomes you home each day.

[blackmamba]

Entry filed under: Black Mamba, English, William Matthews. Tags: .

my father moved through dooms of love Musee des Beaux Arts

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Citalopram reviews  |  March 31, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    I got what you intend, saved to my bookmarks , really decent site . 865726

    Reply
  • 2. china  |  April 6, 2012 at 4:39 am

    I enjoy your writing style truly enjoying this internet web site . 193942

    Reply
  • 3. vaginal irritation  |  April 6, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    You need to participate in a contest for among the most effective blogs on the internet. I will recommend this site! 645283

    Reply
  • 4. cocotte en fonte  |  April 8, 2012 at 5:12 am

    forty people that work with all the services Oasis provides, and he is a very busy man, he 465690

    Reply
  • 5. Nasen OP  |  April 17, 2012 at 10:29 am

    We stumbled more than here coming from a different internet page and thought I may possibly check items out. I like what I see so now im following you. Appear forward to exploring your internet page however once again. 630670

    Reply
  • 6. china sucks  |  April 17, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    It can be difficult to write about this topic. I believe you did a fantastic job though! Thanks for this! 136790

    Reply
  • 7. read here  |  April 22, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    I got what you intend, saved to favorites , really decent internet web site . 671633

    Reply
  • 8. renters insurance provider  |  April 26, 2012 at 7:07 am

    Spot up for this write-up, I in fact feel this exceptional internet site requirements a good deal far more consideration. Ill far more likely be once once again to read considerably far more, thank you that data. 160897

    Reply
  • 9. music to download now  |  April 29, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    Ill do this if require to as a lot as I hope that is not too far off the track. 701884

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


