I Loved You

July 25, 2006 at 1:50 am 6 comments

Aleksandr Pushkin

Listen (to D. Zhuravlev read in russian)

I loved you; even now I may confess,
Some embers of my love their fire retain;
But do not let it cause you more distress,
I do not want to sadden you again.
Hopeless and tonguetied, yet I loved you dearly
With pangs the jealous and the timid know;
So tenderly I loved you, so sincerely,
I pray God grant another love you so.

In russian.

Я вас любил..

Я вас любил: любовь еще, быть может
В душе моей угасла не совсем;
Но пусть она вас больше не тревожит;
Я не хочу печалить вас ничем.
Я вас любил безмолвно, безнадежно,
То робостью, то ревностью томим;
Я вас любил так искренно, так нежно,
Как дай вам бог любимой быть другим.

(From www.russianpoetry.net, which is an anthology of Russian poems with translations and recordings. )

I don’t know Russian, so when I met a friend who reads literature in the language, I asked him to suggest a poem. He immediately suggested a Pushkin. (I am still looking for a good translation of that one, but here is one to begin with. I loved you this poem, for its simplicity, conciseness and completeness. :)

Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin inspired The Golden Gate (which happens to be one of my favourite books).

[blackmamba]

Entry filed under: Aleksandr Pushkin, Black Mamba, Russian. Tags: .

The Dancer Tonight

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Falstaff  |  July 26, 2006 at 4:55 am

    Oooh! The Russian Poetry Site is gorgeous. Akhmatova, Blok, Lermontov, Mayakovsky. *rubs hands in glee*

    Reply
  • 2. Gaurav Mishra  |  July 26, 2006 at 5:49 am

    Ah! The bitter-seet pain of unrequited love!

    Beautiful poem.

    Reply
  • 3. J. Alfred Prufrock  |  July 27, 2006 at 12:56 am

    Ummm … do you do requests? Somebody quoted “lips stained with wine” in a mail to me, and all of a sudden I thought of Ernest Dowson. You know – Cynara.

    Oh, OK, Falstaff – “Non Sum Qualis eram Bonae Sub Regno Cynarae”. Would you … ?

    And hey – I like Lee Hazelwood in “Summer Wine”. So sue me.

    J.A.P.

    Reply
  • 4. sandrar  |  September 10, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply
  • 5. celebrity fuck you  |  August 24, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! ygfem and 934yenstzauqh and 1483 : Thanks. We look forward to hearing from you again and for your opinions on the world of work.

    Reply
  • 6. jane doe  |  August 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    The translation of this poem is much better on russianpoetry.net, in my opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


