I Would Like to Describe

October 9, 2006 at 6:37 pm 8 comments

Zbigniew Herbert

Listen (to Warya read)

I would like to describe the simplest emotion
joy or sadness
but not as others do
reaching for shafts of rain or sun

I would like to describe a light
which is being born in me
but I know it does not resemble
any star
for it is not so bright
not so pure
and is uncertain

I would like to describe courage
without dragging behind me a dusty lion
and also anxiety
without shaking a glass full of water

to put it another way
I would give all metaphors
in return for one word
drawn out of my breast like a rib
for one word
contained within the boundaries
of my skin

but apparently this is not possible

and just to say — I love
I run around like mad
picking up handfuls of birds
and my tenderness
which after all is not made of water
asks the water for a face

and anger
different from fire
borrows from it
a loquacious tongue

so is blurred
so is blurred
in me
what white-haired gentleman
separated once and for all
and said
this is the subject
this is the object

we fall asleep
with one hand under our head
and with the other in a mound of planets

our feet abandon us
and taste the earth
with their tiny roots
which next morning
we tear out painfully

(Translated by Peter Dale Scott & Czeslaw Milosz)

Warya writes,

“honestly, quite incredible.
and here my two paisa:

I love Zbigniew Herbert, and it’s not just because his name begins with a Z. Although admittedly, that helps. With Milosz and Szymborska, he peaceably begins and completes my canon of fucking brilliant Poles (it is a small canon).
And I love this poem, for its exhausting pursuit of that elusive morsel of perfection, of perfect comprehension, which mirrors our own. It is the poem that paints us everything a writer has ever wished, asked, lamented; only who knew that from shuffling sands in the mind, crystal could pour out so, drenching paper? Oh but it does, and there’s your hand, in a mound of planets. ”

[blackmamba]

Entry filed under: Black Mamba, Czeslaw Milosz, English, Peter Dale Scott, Polish, Warya, Zbigniew Herbert. Tags: .

The Sickness Tearing the Page

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Facetious Feline  |  October 10, 2006 at 4:21 am

    Great poem, thanks! You should read Miroslav Holub, if you haven’t already.

    Reply
  • 2. warya  |  October 10, 2006 at 8:59 am

    i haven’t! i will.
    thank you.

    Reply
  • 3. GeekK  |  December 29, 2006 at 11:12 am

    Also try Bruno Schulz (prose, intensely poetic).

    Reply
  • 4. I would like to describe « Cellar Door  |  August 16, 2007 at 1:49 am

    […] by indian2006 under Poetry  This poem gave me goosebumps the first time I read it last year. (Source: Link) Check out this site for other great poetry that they have painstakingly made audible. I Would Like […]

    Reply
  • 5. Martin Walker  |  October 17, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Adam Zagajewski is another “fucking brilliant Pole” whose name begins with Z.

    Reply
  • 6. bannahidamath  |  October 26, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Very interesting blog. Tell me about my vast cheeks Oh, good joke) What do you call a crazy blackbird? A raven lunatic!

    Reply
  • 7. Alexwebmaster  |  March 3, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

    Reply
  • 8. Samuel L.  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:01 am

    I noticed that this is not the first time at all that you write about the topic. Why have you decided to touch it again?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


