Nazm Uljhi Hui Hai Seene Mein

February 28, 2007 at 8:29 am 10 comments

Gulzar

Listen (to Vivek read)

nazm uljhi hui hai seene mein
misare atke hue hain hothon par
udate phirte hain titaliyon ki tarah
lafz kaagaz pe baithate hi nahin
kab se baithaa hun main jaanam
saade kaagaz pe likh ke naam tera
bas tera naam hi mukammal hai
is se behtar bhi nazm kyaa hogi

We haven’t run any urdu poems in a while, so here is a wonderful nazm by Gulzar. And a new guest contributor, Vivek, who does a great reading of the same.

Vivek writes, So simple and yet so beautiful….Such a fabulous way of expressing what simply boils down to ” My love, to me your name is the most beautiful and the very best verse that I can possibly write. And so whenever i sit down to write something I cant go beyond putting down your name on a blank sheet.” I absolutely love this one and so I chose this nazm.

Gulzar is among the most popular lyricists in Bollywood and an acclaimed and sensitive film-maker.

And translation (Thx Falstaff)

A poem is trapped inside me.
Metaphors catch at my lips,
words hover like butterflies
never settling on paper.
I have sat for hours writing
your name on a blank page.
Only your name is beautiful.
What other poem is there?

[blackmamba]

Entry filed under: Black Mamba, Gulzar, Urdu, Vivek. Tags: .

The Windhover Sonnet XLII

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Falstaff  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Translation (just in case you don’t read Urdu):

    A poem is trapped inside me.
    Metaphors catch at my lips,
    words hover like butterflies
    never settling on paper.
    I have sat for hours writing
    your name on a blank page.
    Only your name is beautiful.
    What other poem is there?

    Reply
  • 2. Revealed  |  February 28, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Ty for the translation. I was just going to ask for someone to please put one up.

    Reply
  • 3. ikshayar  |  March 1, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Nazm uljhi hai seene mein..

    Very nice imagination

    Reply
  • 4. Gautam Dhar  |  March 6, 2007 at 2:48 am

    This is a great nazm. Simple yet heartfelt. Here is anorther one, which is his Best one I’ve come across so far..

    http://gdhar.com/2007/03/05/rozgar-ke-silsile/

    Reply
  • 5. Gautam Dhar  |  March 6, 2007 at 2:50 am

    This is a great nazm. Simple yet heartfelt. Here is another one, which is his Best one I’ve come across so far..

    http://gdhar.com/2007/03/05/rozgar-ke-silsile/

    Reply
  • 6. Gautam Dhar  |  March 8, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Thanks for sharing this!! Here is another Nazm by Gulzar sahab from the movie Raincoat..One of the best films ever. Very very poignant. I think everyone would like to hear the Nazm in Gulzar sahab’s own voice.
    Here is the full nazm in his voice:
    Mausam Ka Jhaunka

    Reply
  • 7. khizar  |  March 22, 2007 at 4:08 am

    tere labo par zaban rakh kar..mai noor ka wo haseen qatra bhi pe gaya hoo….jo teri ujli, dhuli hui rooh se phisal kar , tere labo par th’her gya tha………

    Reply
  • 8. Sana  |  September 2, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    Ummm…
    I just have one pointer: I suggest you change the last lines of the translation to:
    Your name alone suffices
    Could this poem be more complete?

    Reply
  • 9. Rumi  |  October 6, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Such a beautiful poem by Gulzar. Great translation Falstaff.
    I suggest following alteration.

    A poem is tangled in my chest.
    Stanzas are trapped at my lips,
    Fluttering like butterflies
    words refuse to settle on paper.
    I have labored for hours my darling
    After I wrote your name
    on a blank sheet of paper.
    Your name itself is so beautiful.
    What poem can excel that?

    Reply
  • 10. host gator coupon  |  December 31, 2011 at 4:55 am

    whoah this blog is excellent i really like reading your posts. Keep up the good paintings! You recognize, lots of persons are hunting round for this info, you could aid them greatly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories


